In about an hour, most of the adult mentors are leaving for our weekend Youth Mission Trip to Philadelphia.

We are going down to Old First U.C.C. on Race Street. They have had an active ministry with the homeless for as long as I can remember. Many moons ago I went there for a week, during my second week of Seminary.

These experiences have an opportunity to be pivotal in the lives of those who serve. They open us up (I believe) to God’s presence because the world is so different than the world in which most of us live.

For a variety of reasons, our Youth Director and I are using Matthew 25:31-46 as our focus text for this weekend.

I think that as Jesus is approaching the end of his ministry, knowing his time is drawing near, teachings such as this must have been important. Otherwise, why not emphasize something else?

So I pray that this weekend we might be able to awaken our spirits to the presence of Christ in the homeless poor. I also pray that when we break to read this text over and over we are reminded that we all have something we are able to share.

O Lord, instill in us a generous heart. Amen.

  • “One great reason why the rich, in general, have so little sympathy for the poor, is, because they so seldom visit them. Hence it is, that, according to the common observation, one part of the world does not know what the other suffers.” ~ John Wesley, from his sermon “On Visiting the Sick”
