Just a brief ‘interlude’ on this Sunday’s text. It is Luke’s version of the Pharisee and Tax Collector. I had a different sermon plan, but the longer I ‘chew’ (in the Lectio Divina sense) on this text, the more I find myself standing somewhere in the middle…

I stand somewhere in the middle of this whole situation.

You may place me up there with the priests.

You might assume that I’d be here, right at the altar rail proclaiming my just-ness.

You would never assume that I am over in the corner, cowering like the tax collector.

There are days that it is tempting to rail against the self-righteous jerks I encounter.

There are days when in my prayers I can do nothing more than throw myself at the mercy seat.

When I strive for “clean hands” and a “pure heart” it is both

Hard to be humble, and certain of my own failures.

I stand somewhere in the middle of this whole situation.

