Church geeks like me watched the live streaming of the Presbyterian Church (USA) General Assembly last week from Minneapolis. For me at least, who has been a delegate to our U.C.C. General Synod twice, served on Conference boards in two different conferences, and Committees on Ministry in three different Associations, the deliberation gave me flash-backs.

In one way or another, I’ve been present for our recent decisions on the ordination of LGBT folk and more recently the Marriage Equality decision. I distinctly remember the pain, even though on most issues I concurred with the outcome on several controversial issues.

I don’t know if I’ve ever read a response to denominational issues/decisions like this, stated so well, so passionately, that they beg repeating.

A twitter friend (Rev. Brian Merritt) in Washington D.C. recently blogged just such a response.  You can read it here: http://pastorofdisaster.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/open-letter-to-the-219th-general-assembly/

