Dunno why, but I thought I share with you the huge pile of books I’ve been working my way through.

Personally and professionally, I am interested in Mercersburg Theology. I just Received “The Eucharist and Ecumenism” by George Hunsiger. I am also reading Incarnation and Sacrament: The Eucharistic Controversy Between Charles Hodge and John Williamson Nevin Incarnation and Sacrament: The Eucharistic Controversy Between Charles Hodge and John Williamson Nevin by Jonathan G. Bonomo and Keith Mathison. This text was recommended to me by a friend and Brother from my Order, Corpus Christi, The Rev. Chris Anderson. It is a great, very succinct treatment of what has been discussed many other times, (recently I read “Imputation and Impartation” by Evans. Good book but ‘thick’ theologically).

On the lighter side, I’ve been reading “The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything” by noted Jesuit scholar James Martin.  This is actually a fun book to read as Martin can make fun of his Brothers, and at the same time explain quite well the benefits of their discipline.  I got interested in this text because my one time Spiritual Director Ira Kent Groff was schooled in the Ignatian Exercises. His book, “Praying West Facing East” is also on my bookpile.

As you may notice from the column at the left, I pray the ‘hours’ as a part of my spiritual disciplines, and my Order’s discipline. After reading “The Seven Story Mountain” I have had a fondness for Thomas Merton. I’ve been using “Book of Hours” which is a compilation of Merton’s prayers and meditations, as a ‘break’ from the traditional forms.

Speaking of the ‘hours,’ I’ve really appreciated Joan Chittister’s “Wisdom Distilled from the Daily.” I think that this is an excellent explanation of the value of the Benedictine hours.

At a recent pastor’s conference, the best bookseller I know, Byron Borger, snookered me into buying a couple of books. (as if it took much coercement).  One of the books I bought was Tom Long’s book on Funerals.  Seeing how I’ve had eleven (that’s right, eleven) since the last week in January) I thought I should do a little self-assement.  This book is helpful if not revelatory.  I do think it would be helpful for seminarians and pastor’s who did not study at the feet of a great pastoral theologian on such matter like I did, Paul Irion (The Funeral and the Mourner).

Yeesh.  Seems like I should get a life.  The only Fiction I’ve read lately is “Glittering Images” by Susan Howatch., which is a novel whose central character is a Priest in the Church of England.

Good grief!  just proofread this post.  I think I need a comic book.  Or, what do they call them these days, a graphic novel?  Hmmm.  Maybe something light, like the “Brothers Karamazov.”  Not.

