Someone from our church asked me about this new UCC ad.

I Like it…I was sharing it earlier today through Twitter and Facebook. As the ad-copy says, it is inclusive…just like the wider UCC.

The other thing I like about it is that I believe that its purpose is to intrigue ‘non-church’ people into checking us out.  It is ‘indirect’ communication, in that it shows people, places, events, and activities in which UCC folk participate.  The problem is that (depending upon where that ‘checking out’ happens) they may claim ‘false advertisement.’

The UCC IS DIVERSE racially, theologically, worship styles, and in terms of social ideologies. I appreciate that, even while I want and celebrate our regional distinctiveness.  I am especially thankful to see Rev. Dr. Jeremiah Wright in one of the frames in the ad.

Anyway, that’s my two cents.

Peace!

Jon

