A colleague, who recently retired replied to my recent blog post with this:

I stopped wearing a collar when I concluded in the present culture it is seen more as a costume than a uniform. And rather than bringing to mind a sacramental presence it brings to mind a cartoonish stereotype. Also personal reflections revealed my decision to wear and not to wear the collar were sometimes arbitrary and other times worn or not worn with manipulative intent. Finally to be collarless was one tiny way to affirm the priesthood of all believers. This affirmation is of course in contrast to what a collared Roman Catholic priest intends to convey.

I am thankful for such thoughtful reflections on what I write, and say. I pray for dialogue like this because it is to me, when prayerfully taken in, part of everyday discernment.

